California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) 

Enforcement Advisory Council Meeting

CIWMB Response to Enforcement Advisory Council Letter on E-Waste—July, 2002

July 9, 2002

Mr. Michael L. Schmaeling, Chair, EAC
Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency
Santa Barbara County Environmental Health Services
2125 S. Centerpointe Parkway, Room 333
Santa Maria, California 93455

Subject: EAC Letter on Concerns Regarding E-Waste Management

Dear Mr. Schmaeling:

Thank you for the letter dated May 6, 2002 expressing the Enforcement Advisory Council’s (EAC) concerns regarding e-waste management discussed at the EAC meetings on March 21 and June 11, 2002.

The letter requests that the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) along with other appropriate Boards or Departments in Cal-EPA such as the California Integrated Waste Management Board (IWMB), and Office of Environmental Heath Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) develop a Local Enforcement Agency (LEA) Advisory. EAC suggests that the Advisory provide direction to regulators and handlers, including home generators, commercial businesses, waste handling and disposal sites, recycling centers, and other processors, on the proper storage, transportation, processing and disposal of electronic, household hazardous and universal wastes.

Additionally, the letter requests that the advisory be based on sound scientific research, including hazard/risk analyses. The letter also suggests a phased approach to implementation of any new requirements so that markets and an effective infrastructure will have been developed. Furthermore, the letter requests that California’s policies for the handling of universal and/or electronic wastes distinguish between household generated and commercial/ industrial generated hazardous wastes, to be consistent with the federal requirements.

The following undertakings are in progress and should address many if not all of the EAC’s concerns specified in the letter.

  • The E-Waste Working Group was convened in 2001 and consists of CIWMB staff representing the Markets, Special Waste, Permitting & Enforcement Divisions Public Information and Policy Office. DTSC has attended several working group meetings. The working group meets monthly and is determining any needed recommendations for CIWMB strategies to manage electronic wastes in California. The next meeting is scheduled for July 11, 2002. There are plans to expand the working group to include OEHHA and LEA representatives. For more information, contact Sue Happersberger at (916) 341-6383.
  • The CIWMB allocated $60,000 for a contract to develop web-based educational materials and fact sheets on handling electronic wastes. The fact sheets may be incorporated into an LEA Advisory if an Advisory is needed.
  • The CIWMB approved a California Product Stewardship Support Project to address strategies for working with industry on the increasingly complex electronic and other waste management issues and to support the CIWMB involvement in the National Electronic Product Stewardship Initiative (NEPSI). The scope of the endeavor includes a survey of California jurisdictions to identify the costs and concerns they face in dealing with the growing e-waste burden.
  • The CIWMB conducted a survey of LEAs, CUPAs and industry to identify and prioritize problems with electronic waste disposal and handling. The responses from survey participants will help to develop strategies that will address the most crucial issues first. Electronic waste issues to be addressed include clarification on current regulations, illegal dumping, collection, storage/stockpiling, transportation, public education, processing, markets, environmental safeguards, available funding, and limitations of current technology. For more information, contact Sue Happersberger at (916) 341-6383.
  • Two current proposed legislative bills, SB 1523 and SB 1619, would help develop infrastructure to handle electronic wastes. For more information, contact Robert Holmes at (916) 341-6376.
  • The EAC letter was given to DTSC at the last E-Waste Work Group meeting on June 13, 2002. We will be asking for DTSC’s comments and forward their response to you as soon as it is available. For more information, contact Charles Corcoran at (916) 327-4499.

Thank you for the opportunity to address the issues outlined in your letter. Should you have any questions or comments concerning the above matter, please contact Sue Happersberger at (916) 341-6383.


Sharon Anderson for:

Scott Walker
Acting Deputy Director
Permitting and Enforcement Division

cc: Ms. Linda Moulton-Patterson, Chair, CIWMB
      Mr. Dan Eaton, Member, CIWMB
      Mr. Steven R. Jones, Member, CIWMB
      Mr. Jose Medina, Member, CIWMB
      Mr. Michael Paparian, Member, CIWMB
      Mr. David A. Roberti, Member, CIWMB
      Ms. Peggy Harris, DTSC
      Mr. Charles Corcoran, DTSC
      Mr. Dan Avera, Chair, CCDEH Solid Waste Committee 

EAC Archive

Please note: Past meeting agendas and notes are retained for historical purposes. Over time, some information and links on these pages may become dated and/or inaccurate.

Last updated: February 8, 2005
Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC)
Leta Forland: (916) 341-6395