California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) 

Enforcement Advisory Council Meeting: August 19, 2004

Response to Resolution 2004-02

December 1, 2004

Mr. Bill Prinz
Chair, EAC
Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency
Development Services Department
1010 Second Ave Ste 600 MS 606L
San Diego, CA 92101-4998

Subject: Election of New Officers, Enforcement Advisory Council Resolution 2004-02

Dear Mr. Prinz:

This letter is in response to Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) Resolution 2004-02, dated September 7, 2004, and passed at the August 19, 2004 EAC meeting.

This EAC resolution announces the results of the EAC elections and the new officers as follows: Bill Prinz, Chair (City of San Diego LEA); Leonard Grossberg, Co-Vice Chair (City of Vernon LEA); and Dave Altman, Co-Vice Chair (County of Placer LEA). The officers hold these positions for a term of two years.

I would like to take this opportunity to commend the past officers of the EAC, Greg Pirie as Chair and Patti Henshaw and Ernie Genter as Co-Vice Chairs, for their work over the past two years. Most recently, the EAC helped coordinate input on how to structure the AB 1497 regulatory package, provided comments on the inspector/operator training issue, and continued its support of our joint partnership efforts on various other issues.

We support the EAC efforts to continue compiling LEA comments on technical matters, which help shape the outcome on areas of mutual concern in solid waste management. We rely on the EAC to assist the CIWMB in implementation of programs, policies and regulations and we encourage the EAC and its membership to maintain a strong relationship with the Board member offices as well.

One of the main reasons why the EAC is an effective resource for the CIWMB is because it consists of members representing the diverse local regions of the state and other disciplines engaged in solid waste enforcement. There are six members who represent the six statewide CIWMB/LEA regional Roundtables and six members that represent the following organizations:

  1. California Conference of Local Health Officers.
  2. California Conference of Directors of Environmental Health.
  3. California Department of Health Services, Contract Counties.
  4. Northern City LEAs.
  5. Southern City LEAs.
  6. CIWMB EA Section staff.

I look forward to continuing to work with EAC and the newly elected EAC officers to further our success at coordinating an effective consistent statewide solid waste enforcement program and assuring that LEA and CIWMB interests and training needs are being met.


Original signed by

Howard Levenson, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
Permitting and Enforcement Division

Attachment: EAC Resolution 2004-02

cc: Enforcement Advisory Council Members
Ken Stuart, Chair, CCDEH Solid Waste Policy Committee
Rosario Marin, Chair, CIWMB
Linda Moulton-Patterson, Member CIWMB
Rosalie Mulé, Member, CIWMB
Michael Paparian, Member, CIWMB
Cheryl Peace, Member, CIWMB
Carl Washington, Member, CIWMB
Julie Nauman, Chief Deputy Director, CIWMB

EAC Archive

Please note: Past meeting agendas and notes are retained for historical purposes. Over time, some information and links on these pages may become dated and/or inaccurate.

Last updated: December 7, 2004
Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC)
Leta Forland: (916) 341-6395