California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) 

Enforcement Advisory Council Meeting: August 7, 2007

Response to Resolution 2007-05

December 21, 2007

Mr. Trey Strickland
Chair, Enforcement Advisory Council
Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency (LEA)
Mendocino County Public Health Department
Division of Environmental Health
501 Low Gap Rd Rm 1326
Ukiah, CA 95482

Subject: Response to Resolution 2007-05—Recommendation to form a Subcommittee to Resolve Policy and Guidance Issues Regarding Closed Sites with Multiple Owners

Dear Mr. Strickland:

This letter is in response to Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) Resolution 2007-05, dated September 25, 2007, and passed at the August 7, 2007 EAC meeting.

This resolution states the EAC’s desire to form a subcommittee to resolve the policy issues to facilitate the use of the existing Solid Waste Information System (SWIS) database for reporting inspection results at closed sites that have multiple owners. The resolution also asks for additional guidance on delineating how and when the existing reporting process can be utilized to maximize information input into the SWIS system. The resolution requests California Integrated Waste Management Board (CIWMB) staff participation on the subcommittee.

I think the use of a subcommittee would be an effective approach to examine and resolve this and other issues at closed sites. CIWMB looks forward to working with the EAC to resolve these issues.

Once the EAC establishes the subcommittee and the first meeting dates, additional appropriate CIWMB staff will be selected to participate. We look forward to working in partnership with EAC to revise the policy and database issues so that concerns and needs of both the LEAs and CIWMB staff are met. At this time, Bill Orr will be the primary contact for the subcommittee and for the issues in EAC resolution 2007-05. Please feel free to contact him at 916-341-6472.


Original signed by

Ted Rauh, Program Director
Waste Compliance & Mitigation Program

Attachment: EAC Resolution 2007-05


Enforcement Advisory Council Members
Ray Ruminski, Chair, CCDEH Solid Waste Policy Committee
Margo Reid Brown, Chair, CIWMB
Wes Chesbro, Member, CIWMB
Jeffrey Danzinger, Member, CIWMB
Rosalie Mulé, Member, CIWMB
Cheryl Peace, Member, CIWMB
Gary Petersen, Member, CIWMB
Julie Nauman, Chief Deputy Director, CIWMB

EAC Archive

Please note: Past meeting agendas and notes are retained for historical purposes. Over time, some information and links on these pages may become dated and/or inaccurate.

Last updated: December 28, 2007
Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC)
Leta Forland: (916) 341-6395