California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) 

Enforcement Advisory Council Meeting: August 7, 2007

Response to Resolution 2007-06

October 12, 2007

Mr. Trey Strickland, Chair, EAC
Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency
Mendocino County LEA
Division of Environmental Health
501 Low Gap Rd., #1326
Ukiah, CA 95482

Subject: Response to Resolution 2007-06--Selection of Greg Pirie as the 2007 Recipient of the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award

Dear Mr. Strickland:

This letter is in response to Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) Resolution 2007-06, dated September 25, 2007, and passed at the September 25, 2007 EAC meeting.

This EAC resolution confirms the EAC Awards Committee’s selection of the very talented and knowledgeable Greg Pirie as the 2007 recipient of the LEA/EA Annual Achievement Award (the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award).

The memorial award was established by EAC to recognize accomplished and outstanding LEA/EA individuals, such as Greg Pirie, whose commendable contributions in environmental health programs have benefited the citizens of California.

Greg Pirie has attained better management and enforcement of solid waste for the citizens of California by many accomplishments, including, participation on many CIWMB regulatory workgroups and numerous activities while on the Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) including but not limited to:

  • Co-formed the Permit Toolbox Advisory Committee
  • Inclusion of the Enforcement Program Plan as part of the Permit Toolbox
  • Initiated the review of the health impacts from compost facilities
  • Worked with the California Conference Directors of Environmental Health (CCDEH) Executive Director to craft the final language in AB 2159 on hearing panels
  • Instituted the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award in 1999 as a tribute to the memory and legacy of Mr. Ralph Hunter, Napa County Director, and LEA.

More of his accomplishments are listed on the CIWMB Ralph Hunter Memorial Award website.

CIWMB continues to appreciate participating on the Awards Committee with EAC and California Conference of Directors of Environmental Health (CCDEH) Solid Waste Policy Committee in evaluating nominations for the LEA/EA Annual Achievement Award, the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award.

The CIWMB joins the EAC and CCDEH in congratulating Greg Pirie for his achievements and contributions to exceptional solid waste enforcement in California.


Original signed by

Ted Rauh, Program Director
Waste Compliance and Mitigation Program
Attachment: EAC Resolution 2007-06

cc: Enforcement Advisory Council Members
Ray Ruminski, Chair, CCDEH Solid Waste Policy Committee
Nancy Watt, County of Napa Executive Officer
Margo Reid Brown, Chair, CIWMB
Wesley Chesbro, Member, CIWMB
Jeffrey Danzinger, Member, CIWMB
Rosalie Mulé, Member, CIWMB
Cheryl Peace, Member, CIWMB
Gary Petersen, Member, CIWMB
Julie Nauman, Chief Deputy Director, CIWMB

EAC Archive

Please note: Past meeting agendas and notes are retained for historical purposes. Over time, some information and links on these pages may become dated and/or inaccurate.

Last updated: November 27, 2007
Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC)
Leta Forland: (916) 341-6395