California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) 

Enforcement Advisory Council Meeting: January 25, 2007

Response to Resolution 2007-01

February 23, 2007

Mr. Robert Wiechert, Chair, EAC
Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency
Department of Public Health
Division of Environmental Health
777 W 22nd St
Merced, CA 95340

Subject: Election of a New Chair-Response to Enforcement Advisory Council Resolution 2007-01

Dear Mr. Wiechert:

I am writing in response to Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) Resolution 2007-01, received February 21, 2007 and passed at the January 25, 2007 EAC meeting. The resolution announces the results of the EAC election in which the EAC selected you as Chair to replace Greg Pirie (County of Napa LEA) who was serving as Acting Chair.

The EAC’s efforts in the enforcement of solid waste mandates and effective solid waste management are highly valued. We rely on the EAC to assist the California Integrated Waste Management Board (CIWMB) in implementation of enforcement programs, trainings, technical matters and regulations and we encourage the EAC and its membership to maintain a strong relationship with the Board Member offices as well. We continue to support the EAC’s efforts in compiling LEA comments on technical matters, which help shape the outcome on areas of mutual concern in solid waste management.

Congratulations on your new position as EAC Chair. Your extensive knowledge and experience as an LEA will further the accomplishments of the EAC, along with your highly knowledgeable Co-Vice Chairs Bill Prinz (City of San Diego) and Sue Markie (EA Section, CIWMB).

The CIWMB looks forward to continuing to work with EAC to further our success at coordinating an effective consistent statewide solid waste enforcement program and assuring that LEA and CIWMB interests and training needs are being met. Please feel free to call me at (916) 341-6311 if you have any questions or concerns about your role and the function of the EAC.


Original signed by

Howard Levenson, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
Permitting and Enforcement Division

Attachment: EAC Resolution 2006-08

Enforcement Advisory Council Members
Ben Gale, Chair, California Conference of Directors of Environmental Health Solid Waste Policy Committee
Margo Reid Brown, Chair, CIWMB
Wesley Chesbro, Member, CIWMB
Jeffrey Danzinger, Member, CIWMB
Rosalie Mulé, Member, CIWMB
Gary Petersen, Member, CIWMB
Julie Nauman, Chief Deputy Director, CIWMB

EAC Archive

Please note: Past meeting agendas and notes are retained for historical purposes. Over time, some information and links on these pages may become dated and/or inaccurate.

Last updated: March 22, 2007
Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC)
Leta Forland: (916) 341-6395