California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) 

Enforcement Advisory Council Meeting: October 8, 2008

Response to Resolution 2008-02

November 14, 2008

Ms. Rebecca Lafreniere, Chair, EAC
Solid Waste Local Enforcement Agency
San Diego County LEA
Department of Environmental Health
9325 Hazard Way
San Diego, California 92123-1217

Subject: Selection of Patti Henshaw as the 2008 Recipient of the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award-Response to Enforcement Advisory Council Resolution 2008-02

Dear Ms. Lafreniere:

This letter from the California Integrated Waste Management Board (CIWMB) is in response to Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC) Resolution 2008-02, dated October 27 and passed at the October 8, 2008, EAC meeting.

This EAC resolution confirms the EAC Awards Committee’s selection of the very accomplished and knowledgeable Patti Henshaw as the 2008 recipient of the LEA/EA Annual Achievement Award (the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award).

The memorial award was established by EAC to recognize talented and outstanding LEA/EA individuals, such as Patti Henshaw, whose commendable contributions to environmental health programs have benefited the citizens of California.

Patti Henshaw’s thoughtful, comprehensive approach to solving problems and addressing complex regulatory issues has made her a valuable contributor to LEA/EA programs throughout California.

Patti’s numerous accomplishments include participation on many CIWMB regulatory workgroups and abundant activities while on the Enforcement Advisory Council. Her accomplishments are too many to list but below are a few:

  • Initiated the LEA/CIWMB Partnership Conference by being a founding member of its steering committee. Her promotion and continual support of the conference contributes to its success today.
  • Championed the continued need for promoting education as the primary strategy for successful operator compliance while developing the CIWMB Enforcement Policy Compliance Strategies.
  • Served 7 years on the California Conference of Directors of Environmental Health (CCDEH) Solid Waste Policy Committee, 5 years on the Enforcement Advisory Council and more than 10 years on LEA Round Tables.
  • Permitted numerous solid waste facilities while working closely with local planners and CIWMB permitting staff to ensure that environmentally sound projects are developed.
  • Participation on many CIWMB regulatory workgroups:
    • Development of Title 27;
    • Streamlining Permit Processing;
    • Detailed Analysis of Regulations Pertaining Landfill Gas;
    • Implementation of AB1497; and
    • Closure & Postclosure Land Use.

More of Patti’s accomplishments are listed on the CIWMB Ralph Hunter Memorial Award website.

CIWMB continues to appreciate participating on the Awards Committee with EAC and CCDEH Solid Waste Policy Committee in evaluating nominations for the LEA/EA Annual Achievement Award (the Ralph Hunter Memorial Award).

The CIWMB joins the EAC and CCDEH in congratulating Patti Henshaw for her achievements and contributions to exceptional solid waste enforcement in California.


Original signed by

Ted Rauh, Program Director
Waste Compliance and Mitigation Program

cc. Enforcement Advisory Council Members
Ray Ruminski, Chair, CCDEH Solid Waste Policy Committee
Richard Sanchez, County of Orange, Director, Environmental Health
Margo Reid Brown, Chair, CIWMB
Wesley Chesbro, Member, CIWMB
Rosalie Mulé, Member, CIWMB
Cheryl Peace, Member, CIWMB
Gary Petersen, Member, CIWMB
Mark Leary, Executive Director, CIWMB
Mark de Bie, Chief, Permitting and LEA Support Division
Patti Henshaw, Orange County LEA

Please note: Past meeting agendas and notes are retained for historical purposes. Over time, some information and links on these pages may become dated and/or inaccurate.

Last updated: November 20, 2008
Enforcement Advisory Council (EAC)
Leta Forland: (916) 341-6395