California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle)

Recycling Market Development Zone

Fresno County

View Local RMDZ Webpage

The Fresno County Recycling Market Development Zone (RMDZ) includes all of the unincorporated areas of the county and the incorporated cities of Clovis, Coalinga, Firebaugh, Fresno, Fowler, Huron, Kerman, Kingsburg, Mendota, Orange Cove, Parlier, Reedley, San Joaquin, Sanger, and Selma. The county is geographically central to the rest of the California Central Valley. As the Central Valley’s largest population center and the most productive agricultural area, the Fresno County RMDZ will stimulate the growth of start-up recycling-based businesses, and encourage existing recycling-based businesses to expand their operations into the county.


Incentives available in various parts of the zone include one-stop permitting assistance, waiver or reduction of development/permit fees, a database on land, buildings, markets, and feedstock, a micro revolving loan fund, and installment payment of fees.

Target Materials

The Fresno County RMDZ has targeted plastics, paper, glass, concrete, wood, and green waste for manufacturing development.


Currently, there are three operating landfills and three transfer stations in the Fresno RMDZ. The cities of Firebaugh, Kerman, Mendota, and San Joaquin have joined with Fresno County and the community of Tranquility to form the first major industrial development district on the Interstate 5 corridor, known as the I-5 Business Development Corridor Partnership. It is anticipated that the I-5 business development corridor will become an industrial cluster for businesses with common technologies and markets, similar to Silicon Valley in the electronics industry. Two interstate railroads, Southern Pacific and Santa Fe, provide excellent transportation for both passenger and freight transport.

A similar collaboration exists on the east side of Fresno County. The Five Cities Economic Development authority is "a joint powers authority" integrating the cities of Fowler, Parlier, Reedley, Sanger, and Selma. The purpose of the authority is to work collaboratively and cooperatively to expand each city's local economy through job creation and economic development, incorporating essential agencies. By pooling these resources, there are more opportunities for development with a variety of industrial sites and land available.


Fresno County RMDZ
Michael Greenberg
Senior Staff Analyst
2220 Tulare Street, Suite 6
Fresno, CA 93721
Phone: (559) 600-4311
FAX: (559) 600-4552

CalRecycle contact for this RMDZ:
Zone Liaison: Catherine McDonald


PlaceType of PlaceIn Zone
Fresno CountyUnincorporated CountyInside Zone
HuronIncorporated CityInside Zone
KermanIncorporated CityInside Zone
KingsburgIncorporated CityInside Zone
MendotaIncorporated CityInside Zone
Orange CoveIncorporated CityInside Zone
ParlierIncorporated CityInside Zone
ReedleyIncorporated CityInside Zone
San JoaquinIncorporated CityInside Zone
SangerIncorporated CityInside Zone
SelmaIncorporated CityInside Zone
ClovisIncorporated CityInside Zone
CoalingaIncorporated CityInside Zone
FirebaughIncorporated CityInside Zone
FowlerIncorporated CityInside Zone
FresnoIncorporated CityInside Zone
Page 1 of 1Count: 16   
Data updated continuously.
Recycling Market Development Zone Program:
Zone Assistance: Regional Zone Contacts or, (916) 341-6199