Used Oil Recycling Program
Statutes and Regulations
Used Oil Statutes
- Used Oil Management: Health and Safety Code, Section 25250.1-25250.25
- Used Oil Recycling Enhancement Act: Public Resources Code, Section 48600 et seq.
Statutes can be retrieved from the Legislative Council's website.
Used Oil Regulations
- Current regulations: Title 14, Division 7, Chapter 8
California Oil Recycling Enhancement Act
What is the oil recycling enhancement act?
The California Oil Recycling Enhancement Act, which is administered by the the California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle), is a law designed to discourage the illegal disposal of used oil. This law requires oil manufacturers to pay to CalRecycle $0.26/gallon through December 31, 2013, of lubricating oil sold in California. On and after January 1, 2014, the fee decreases to $0.24/gallon. Registered industrial generators, curbside collection programs, and certified collection centers are eligible to receive an incentive payment from CalRecycle.
In September 2009, Governor Schwarzenegger signed Senate Bill (SB) 546 (Lowenthal) making significant changes to the California Oil Recycling Enhancement Act. The bill restructures the lubricating oil recycling fee and the used oil recycling incentive payment system, streamlines the used oil grant programs, promotes the production and use of re-refined oil, makes changes to the used oil certified collection center program, and makes various changes to the handling and management of used oil. Except where otherwise noted, these changes take effect January 1, 2010.
For more information on the amendment highlights to the California Recycling Enhancement Act, please see key elements of SB 546.
This website will be the portal for announcing activities related to the implementation of SB 546. Program news, updates, new procedures and forms, and upcoming activities will all be posted on this site.